Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2016

BFS_Logo_red_SMALLThese are the winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2016, as announced on Sunday, 25 September 2016, at the awards banquet at FantasyCon 2016 in Scarborough:

Best anthology: The Doll Collection, ed. Ellen Datlow (Tor Books)

Best artist: Julie Dillon

Best collection: Ghost Summer: Stories, Tananarive Due (Prime Books)

Best comic/graphic novel: Bitch Planet, Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter (Image Comics) (#2–5)

Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Macmillan)

Best film/television production: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Peter Harness (BBC One)

Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award): Rawblood, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Best independent press: Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)

Best magazine/periodical: Beneath Ceaseless Skies, ed. Scott H. Andrews (Firkin Press)

Best newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Zen Cho, for Sorcerer to the Crown (Macmillan)

Best non-fiction: Letters to Tiptree, ed. Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best novella: The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn, Usman T. Malik (

Best short fiction: Fabulous Beasts, Priya Sharma (

The Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award): The FantasyCon redshirts, past and present

The nominees in each category were decided by the voters of the British Fantasy Society,
FantasyCon 2015 and FantasyCon 2016, with the juries having a discretion to add up to two
further egregious omissions in each category. The full list of nominees is here.

The winners were decided by the following jury members. Best anthology: Gary Couzens and Zean Fairbanks-Gilbert. Best artist: Caroline Callaghan, Howard Watts and Jay Eales. Best collection: Carole Johnstone, E.G. Cosh and Simon Bestwick. Best comic/graphic novel: Ian Hunter, Jo Thomas and P M Buchan. Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): Elaine Hillson, Rhian Bowley and Ross Warren. Best film/television production: Catherine Hill, Jim Steel and Johnny Mains. Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award): Aleksandra Kesek, Nina Allan and Sarah Carter. Best independent press: El Ashfield, Ole Andreas Imsen and Richard Webb. Best magazine/periodical: Kate Coe, Marcus Gipps and Sean Wallace. Best newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Elloise Hopkins, Lizzie Barrett and Robin Lupton. Best non-fiction: Kevin McVeigh, Martin Petto and Ruth EJ Booth. Best novella: Jo Thomas, Laura Mauro and Mark West. Best short story: Stephen Bacon, Penny Jones and Phil Sloman. The Karl Edward Wagner Award was decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee.

The awards administrator was Stephen Theaker. The physical award is a handmade wooden bookend featuring Lee Thompson’s BFS logo design, commissioned from Sarah Goss, who works in traditional woodcarving and restoration:

Now the 2016 awards are over, please consider adding eligible items to our suggestions list for the British Fantasy Awards 2017.

About Stephen Theaker (304 Articles)
Stephen Theaker's reviews, interviews and articles have appeared in Interzone, Black Static, Prism and the BFS Journal. Among other work for the BFS, he has been awards administrator, short story competition administrator, Dark Horizons editor, FantasyCon secretary and treasurer, and (briefly) chair.

1 Comment on Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2016

  1. British Fantasy Awards 2016… 1972. All winners and nominees, by Year & category. With covers.
    Spanish titles and covers also included

5 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2016 British Fantasy Awards | File 770
  2. Naomi Novik gana el British Fantasy Award 2016 a mejor novela de fantasía | Fantífica
  3. Monday 26th September, 2016 – Journeymouse
  4. Ganadores premios British Fantasy 2016 | Fantástica – Ficción
  5. Brèves de comptoir #114 « Encres & Calames

Comments are closed.