The British Fantasy Society Forum

Fantasy => Promote Your Projects => Alchemy Press => Topic started by: Peter Coleborn on March 27, 2012, 05:00:10 pm

Title: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on March 27, 2012, 05:00:10 pm
The Alchemy Press is seeking submissions for THE ALCHEMY BOOK OF PULP HEROES, to be edited by Mike Chinn

The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains – the staple of the Pulp tradition. We want fiction that celebrates (or subverts) that tradition – as well as taking a wild new look at it. Fiction set in the 1930s and 40s, the far future or mythical past, or the present day. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Sports stories, spy stories, aircraft & zeppelin stories, sea & pirate stories, Westerns, medieval romance, horror, science fiction and fantasy, movies and car racing – there’s no limit.

THE ALCHEMY BOOK OF PULP HEROES will be a paperback to be published in September 2012, to be followed by an eBook edition. Successful contributors will receive a copy of the book and a £10.00 advance against royalties on publication. We will accept electronic submissions as email attachments in standard MS format, .rtf, .doc or .docx only. Any submissions included in the body of the email will be rejected unread. The subject line should take the form “Title/author’s name/word count” (i.e. Mastermind of Mars/ ER Burroughs/3,000 words). Contributions must be in the range of 2,000-6,000 words firm, with full contact details on the front page. The submission period runs from April 1st to May 30th 2012. Do no submit outside those dates. No acceptances or rejections will be made until after the deadline; we will endeavour to report back to you six to eight weeks after that. If you have heard nothing after nine weeks you may query at the email address below.

Email all submissions to pulpheroes[at]saladoth.com

THRILL US, SCARE US – MAKE US CARE.

http://alchemypress.blogspot.co.uk/p/pulp-heroes.html
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on April 15, 2012, 11:39:39 am
Mike Chinn, the editor of Pulp Heroes, is keen to see stories by women and featuring female heroes :-)
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Andrew Hook on April 16, 2012, 09:46:29 am
Currently working on something for this and it does include a female 'hero' so fingers crossed :)
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on April 16, 2012, 12:10:05 pm
Currently working on something for this and it does include a female 'hero' so fingers crossed :)

 :)
 :)
 :)
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Mike Chinn on April 17, 2012, 09:07:57 am
Currently working on something for this and it does include a female 'hero' so fingers crossed :)

 ;D
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on May 18, 2012, 12:27:12 pm
There's trouble at t'mill... Actually, there is a problem with Mike's email. If your emails to Mike are bounced, send them via alchemypress@gmail.com and I'll ensure he receives them


Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Mike Chinn on May 18, 2012, 02:56:22 pm
There's trouble at t'mill... Actually, there is a problem with Mike's email. If your emails to Mike are bounced, send them via alchemypress@gmail.com and I'll ensure he receives them

I've been told the problem's fixed ... but I've been told that before.  >:(

Until I confirm it, please keep sending any submissions to the Alchemy Press address.  ::)
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Mike Chinn on June 07, 2012, 04:42:17 pm
Deadline's passed - so now comes the hard part: deciding who's in and who's out. Broadband problem's partially fixed (like I now have broadband), but looks like sorting Outlook may take a while. So in the mean time, anyone has any queries, email me on <mike@saladoth1.demon.co.uk>.
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on June 08, 2012, 02:56:05 pm
Here is the cover -- art by the brilliant Bob Covington:

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-uAUvXrcrFs0/T9Hm2os9dFI/AAAAAAAAA78/74bk0t55hrg/s1600/Publication+A5b.jpg)
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: mightyjoeyoung on June 08, 2012, 03:33:12 pm
Is the guy in the middle Steven Tyler of Aerosmith?
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: CarolineC on June 08, 2012, 05:05:09 pm
That is superb!
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on June 23, 2012, 01:26:45 pm
Here's the link to the ToC:

http://alchemypress.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/editor-mike-chinn-has-now-announced-toc.html

It looks good to me  :)
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Andrew Hook on June 25, 2012, 10:21:16 am
Congrats to all who made the final line-up  ;D
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on August 16, 2012, 07:47:27 pm
With luck, the PDF goes off to the printers next week. The book will -- touch wood, cross fingers, etc -- be ready for its official launch at FantasyCon next month.

Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: williemeikle on August 17, 2012, 12:12:23 pm
With luck, the PDF goes off to the printers next week. The book will -- touch wood, cross fingers, etc -- be ready for its official launch at FantasyCon next month.



Great news. It's nice to have a presence at Fantasycon by proxy as I'm far too far away nowadays to attend in person. :-)
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on August 30, 2012, 12:28:34 pm
I've approved the printer's proof for Pulp Heroes
It's all systems go!
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on September 04, 2012, 08:17:04 pm

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-0dgMcj2DaaU/UEZTBK5n4SI/AAAAAAAABhg/sxoCmmwcVqk/s1600/DSCN0107+edit.JPG)

Advance copies of The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes have arrived at Oldhaven. They look very. very good.
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on September 07, 2012, 06:31:18 pm
The Alchemy Book of Pulp Heroes is now available via Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-alchemy-press-book-of-pulp-heroes-mike-chinn/1112738321?ean=9780953226092

Don't forget -- official launch takes place at FantasyCon later this month

Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on September 08, 2012, 03:28:21 pm
How to buy Pulp Heroes -- follow the links on this page:

http://alchemypress02.blogspot.co.uk/p/pulp-heroes.html
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Mike Chinn on February 06, 2013, 11:39:19 am
Now available in a Kindle edition:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Alchemy-Press-Book-Heroes-ebook/dp/B00BBJVBU2/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1360148591&sr=1-1
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on February 19, 2013, 03:28:34 pm
The EPUB version of The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes can be obtained from Weightless Books

Click here: http://weightlessbooks.com/genre/fiction/fantasy/the-alchemy-press-book-of-pulp-heroes/

Stories in the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains: the staples of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. Deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

In The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, editor Mike Chinn has collected seventeen stories that explore the world of pulp fiction with tall tales of daring do, of heroes and heroines and their villains.

Mike Resnick – Origins
Robert William Iveniuk – House Name
Anne Nicholls – Eyes of Day, Eyes of Night
William Meikle – Ripples in the Ether
Chris Iovenko – The Perfect Murder
Bracken N MacLeod – Ivy’s Secret Origin
Joshua Wolf – Crossing the Line
James Hartley – Jean Marie
Ian Gregory – Currier Dread and the Hair of Destruction
Amber L Husbands – The Going Rate
Michael Haynes – No Way but the Hard Way
Adrian Cole – The Vogue Prince
Joel Lane – Upon a Granite Wind
Milo James Fowler – The Last Laugh
Allen Ashley – In the Margins
Peter Crowther – Heroes and Villains
Peter Atkins – The Return of Boy Justice



Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on March 04, 2016, 02:33:12 pm
(https://alchemypress.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/pulp-heroes-144kb.jpg?w=358&h=500)

The first volume of The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes, edited by Mike Chinn, will become an eBook only from the end of March this year.

If you want a print copy now is the time to get your hands on a copy! For more details:

https://alchemypress.wordpress.com/2016/03/04/pulp-heroes-1-update/
Title: Re: The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes
Post by: Peter Coleborn on February 28, 2017, 04:00:13 pm
The first volume in the Pulp Heroes series is heading towards OOP status. Now is the time to get a copy!  :D

https://alchemypress.wordpress.com/2017/02/28/pulp-heroes-soon-to-go-oop/