Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
1
TV and Film / Re: New Red Sonja movie?
« Last post by Wayne Mook on September 13, 2019, 06:11:33 pm »
Oh goody, this could be fun.

Wayne.
2
TV and Film / Re: Tomb Raider 2
« Last post by Wayne Mook on September 13, 2019, 05:44:48 pm »
Ben Wheatley to direct, I wonder if they will sneak in some folk horror.

Wayne.
3
BFS Publications / Re: BFS Horizons #9
« Last post by Wayne Mook on September 13, 2019, 05:20:43 pm »
Seeing as there is no link to the forum from the main site, guess I should go somewhere else to ask but being an old stager here I go.

have there been any more publications since BFS Horizons #9?

and if so what, if not when is the next publication due?

It was good to see Cardinal Cox making an appearance in #9.

Wayne.
4
Other Media / Re: Soundtrack for The Wheel of Time?
« Last post by david_heath on September 12, 2019, 08:37:08 pm »
Here's a much better WHEEL OF TIME theme - a score idea by Nikhil Koparkar, featuring the the Budapest Orchestra:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WWN97Xy9Kg
5
Promote Your Projects / Re: Parallel Universe Publications
« Last post by David A. Riley on September 03, 2019, 11:24:25 pm »
We have added some exciting new illustrations to the list of Jim Pitts prints that are available from us, plus they are now post free.
Each print is on high  quality A4 paper, approved and signed by the artist before being sealed  for protection inside a plastic envelope.
Colour prints are £7.00 each including p&p
Black & white prints are £5.00 each including p&p
Any orders for 5 or more prints, whether black and white, colour, or mixed qualify for a 20% discount.
Jim Pitts is an award-winning artist (two-times winner of the prestigious British  Fantasy Award, plus Science Fiction's Ken McIntyre Award), whose work  has appeared in numerous magazines and books, both professional and  small press.

https://paralleluniversepublications.blogspot.com/p/our-authors.html





6
Ask the Authors and Artists! / Re: Rhys Hughes
« Last post by rhysaurus on August 29, 2019, 06:37:41 pm »

My new book has just been published. Copies arrived for me today.

SLAP-ON-THE-WRIST STORIES is a selection of tales controlled by numbers.

For example, 'Postcards From the Hedge' is told in 50 postcards from 50 different animals and each postcard is exactly 50 words long... 'Trouble with Drabbles' is a story made up of 100 stories each 100 words long... 'Only Sixty-Nine Whims Away' consists of 69 chapters each 69 words long... 'Ten of Our Trombones are Missing' consists of 66 chapters each 66 words long.

This book is therefore an example of OuLiPo writing.

The title of the book was suggested to me by fantasy writer James Bennett after I had expressed my enthusiasm for Kawabata's Palm-of-the-Hand Stories, one of my favourite short story collections of all time.

My book is available on Amazon and elsewhere in both paperback and ebook editions.
7
Ask the Authors and Artists! / Re: JOHAN FUNDIN - THRILLER AND SUSPENSE AUTHOR
« Last post by Johan Fundin on August 24, 2019, 09:22:36 pm »
SCHIZOID: A psycho-medical thriller of heart-stopping mystery and suspense

RELEASE DATE 26-NOV-2019



Schizoid is a thriller worthy of high praise: a medical mystery that combines psychology, science, and the quirks of interpersonal relationships with an edge that keeps readers guessing to the end, as a writer’s dreams become his worst nightmare.”
Midwest Book Review

An eccentric scientist turned novelist gets lost in the grey zone between fiction and reality when real murders of young women seem copied from his latest, still-in-progress medical-thriller manuscript. A spellbinding serial killer thriller at breakneck pace from the author of Disorder. Perfect for fans of Jonathan Kellerman and Tess Gerritsen.

Someone is murdering female science students at an esteemed university. Against a backdrop of psychological intrigue and creepy healthcare settings, Kenneth Sorin, a young chemistry doctor and medical research associate turned suspense author, starts his own murder investigation with the help of his cat and his new mysterious girlfriend.

The killer removes an eye from each corpse and places emerald crystals into the empty eye sockets. Dr. Sorin—a crystal chemistry and medicinal chemistry specialist—receives strange telephone calls: an old, dead woman phones the author from her grave, encouraging him to look inside himself for the truth. Has he lost his mind? Could he be the killer himself?
9
Ask the Authors and Artists! / A God in Chains opening
« Last post by hapthorn on August 07, 2019, 08:29:18 pm »
I’ve posted on Curious Fictions the first 4500 words of A God in Chains, my new Dying Earth adventure/fantasy novel, published last month by Edge SF and Fantasy Publishing.

https://curiousfictions.com/stories/2447-matthew-hughes-a-god-in-chains-excerpt
10
British Fantasy Awards / Re: British Fantasy Awards 2019
« Last post by Rolnikov on August 05, 2019, 09:48:38 am »
I've been reading as many nominees as I can this year, as a kind of summer reading challenge.

I've just finished reading all the nominated novellas, and I've written a shadow juror blog post about them. Here it is.

Bear in mind the disclaimers: this is just for fun, completely unofficial, absolutely not endorsed by the society (although I think they would encourage us all to buy and read the nominees!), and I don't know anything about what the real jurors are thinking, the criteria they'll apply, or how they are deciding the awards. This is just what I'd be thinking if I were a juror in this category. Hope you find it interesting.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10