Recent Posts

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10
21
Promote Your Projects / James Wade's Arkham House book that never was...
« Last post by David A. Sutton on September 03, 2018, 12:37:14 pm »
Fans of August Derleth and Arkham House may be interested in an Arkham House book that never was… James Wade (1930-1983) proposed a collection of his stories for AH (Derleth had already published some of the author’s stories and poems in anthologies). There was a Foreword written by Fritz Leiber.

Now, much expanded from that original concept, “Such Things May Be: Collected Writings” has been put together by editor Edward P. Berglund. Published by Shadow Publishing, this major retrospective contains 25 short stories, over 20 poems and more than 30 essays and reviews in this major retrospective of the author. Included are tales from Lovecraft’s Cthulhu Mythos: The Deep Ones, A Darker Shadow Over Innsmouth, The Silence of Erika Zann; darkly supernatural terror from the Midwest, The Nightingale Floors, The Pursuer, The Elevator, Snow in the City; Weird tales set in Korea: The Temple of the Fox, Time After Time.

A very good review of the James Wade collection, by Mario Guslandi, has been posted on the SFRevu website. http://sfrevu.com/php/Review-id.php?id=18156.

Quote
"In short, an exhaustive and long due homage to an unjustly forgotten author in the field of dark fiction".
[/size]
22
Introductions / Re: Hello
« Last post by Grum on September 02, 2018, 04:28:58 pm »
*waves back*
23
Introductions / Re: Good day to you all...
« Last post by Grum on September 02, 2018, 04:28:14 pm »
Hi to Cheryl and Djibril
24
TV and Film / The Handmaid's Tale
« Last post by Ken Magee on August 28, 2018, 04:29:29 pm »
I've just finished watching season 2 of The Handmaid's Tale and I thoroughly enjoyed it. So, to be fair to Margaret Atwood, I now plan to read the book.

25
Promote Your Projects / Re: Making Monsters book launch invitation
« Last post by Djibril on August 28, 2018, 04:07:08 pm »
In the run up to the launch party, we're running a small carnival of blog posts and other social media activities on the theme of #MakingMonsters. We'll put together a list of these posts eventually, but for the moment the entries we have had so far include:
Please feel free to join the fun on the #makingmonsters hashtag, follow the carnival on FB, and of course if you can, join us at the launch party on the 6th!
26
Introductions / Re: Good day to you all...
« Last post by Djibril on August 28, 2018, 12:31:57 pm »
Hi Grum! I also overuse parenthesis (especially in speech, strangely)—but sometimes hide the fact with commas and em-dashes. Good to know there are fellow-addicts out here.
27
Introductions / Re: Good day to you all...
« Last post by Cheryl on August 21, 2018, 10:12:46 pm »
Hello!  :D
28
THE BLACK PILGRIMAGE reviewed in THE WASHINGTON POST.

Rosemary Pardoe’s “The Black Pilgrimage & Other Explorations: Essays on Supernatural Fiction”, gets ‘first billing’ in Michael Dirda’s “Washington Post” column of 15th August. In ‘This is getting weird: Critics on horror, science fiction and fantasy’, Dirda discusses the cross-fertilization of the horror, Sf and fantasy genres and John Clute’s “useful umbrella term ‘fantastika’”. He then reviews some recent books about fantastika and has some fine things to say about Rosemary Pardoe’s writing.


Quote
“No one knows more about M.R. James, author of the best ghost stories in English, than Rosemary Pardoe. In The Black Pilgrimage and Other Explorations (Shadow Publishing) she collects her “essays on supernatural fiction,” many of which reflect her careful research into the textual complexities and historical context of James’s imaginative writing. What, for instance, is “the black pilgrimage” undertaken by Count Magnus in the story of that name? Is it a journey to Chorazin, the reputed birthplace of anti-Christ? Or might it be a reference to the “black” stage in certain alchemical experiments? Pardoe also includes introductions to Arthur Gray and E.G. Swain, two masters of the antiquarian ghost story, as well as appreciations of more modern writers such as Fritz Leiber, Jack Finney and Phil Rickman”.

Copies of Rosemary’s absorbing book can be sought from your regular book supplier, or Amazon or direct from the publisher here:
https://www.shadowpublishing.net/product-page/the-black-pilgrimage-other-explorations
29
Promote Your Projects / Re: TFF Reviews
« Last post by Djibril on August 18, 2018, 04:39:12 pm »
Valeria Vitale reviews William Meikle's The Ghost Club: Newly Found Tales of Victorian Terror from Crystal Lake Publishing. A fun project, combining fakery and ghosts, and although the selection of authors to pastiche and stories for them to tell leans to the clichéd and sometimes even unimaginative, the execution is exquisite, and it is an impressive achievement overall.
30
Promote Your Projects / Re: TFF Reviews
« Last post by Djibril on August 18, 2018, 03:13:40 pm »
Andy Sawyer reviews Tom Johnstone's How I Learned the Truth About Krampus, a chapbook from Eibonvale Press. On the surface a simple, Lovecraftian story, its undercurrents last rather longer in the memory, Andy wasn't sure if his (desperately sad) reading of the end of the story was correct, but either way this is a superior folk-horror story.
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10