Author Topic: Alchemy Press events  (Read 2428 times)

Offline Peter Coleborn

  • Publisher, The Alchemy Press
  • Elder Darkness
  • *****
  • Posts: 1656
    • View Profile
    • Peter Coleborn / Alchemy Press
Alchemy Press events
« on: August 21, 2012, 11:44:36 am »
The Alchemy Press launches two new anthologies at FantasyCon on Saturday 29 September, at 10.00 a.m. The convention, a highpoint in the fantasy and horror fan’s calendar, once more returns to the south coast city of Brighton.

Join us, the editors and some of the contributors, to welcome these two new, brilliant anthologies: The Alchemy Press Book of Ancient Wonders and The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes.

The Alchemy Press Book of Ancient Wonders, edited by Jan Edwards and Jenny Barber:

“When we think of a wonder, our minds go most often to the great buildings of the past – the pyramids, the Taj Mahal, Stonehenge – but the human mind can make almost anything wondrous. We walk with wonders every day, through the power of curiosity and imagination and our human tendency to make stories about what we fear, what we desire, what we wish to understand. This collection offers new glimpses into the wonder we all feel.” – Karri Sperring

So then, discover standing stones, burial mounds, ruined castles or sunken cities: the ancient sites that litter our landscapes; the ancient wonders that possess a mysterious appeal that cannot be denied.

With stories by Adrian Tchaikovsky, Aliette de Bodard, Peter Crowther, Anne Nicholls, Adrian Cole, Pauline E Dungate, Bryn Fortey, William Meikle, John Howard, James Brogden, Shannon Connor Winward, Misha Herwin, Lynn M Cochrane and Selina Lock.

The Alchemy Press Book of Pulp Heroes edited by Mike Chinn:

In the tradition of The Shadow, The Bat, Doc Savage, The Spider; Dashiell Hammett’s Continental Detective Agency; Dusty Ayers & His Battle Birds; Sheena and K-Zar. Hard-boiled detectives, sinister vigilantes, bizarre villains – the staple of the Pulp tradition. Two-fisted heroes – and heroines – fighting for right and justice in the midnight city, foetid jungles or exotic, far-flung lands. And deranged villains for whom the world is never enough.

Here, seventeen writers dive headlong into the world of the pulp fiction, to tell us tall tales of daring do, of heroes, heroines and their villains.

With stories by Mike Resnick, Peter Atkins, Peter Crowther, Adrian Cole, William Meikle, Joel Lane, Amber L Husbands, Milo James Fowler, Anne Nicholls, Robert William Iveniuk, Bracken N MacLeod, Chris Iovenko, Joshua Wolf, James Hartley, Ian Gregory, Michael Haynes and Allen Ashley.

Special FantasyCon price: £8.00 each (cover price £10.00) or buy both for £15.00.

http://alchemypress.blogspot.co.uk/


Offline Peter Coleborn

  • Publisher, The Alchemy Press
  • Elder Darkness
  • *****
  • Posts: 1656
    • View Profile
    • Peter Coleborn / Alchemy Press
Re: Alchemy Press events
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2012, 12:02:01 pm »
The Birmingham Independent Book Fair is scheduled for 9 September, from 11.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m.:

“Browse, buy and discover new books, many of which are not available on the high street.
This day-long event will feature independent publishers from the West Midlands and beyond, offering you the chance to buy books directly from the publishers, who will be on hand to answer questions and introduce you to new writing. From poetry pamphlets to prose fiction, graphic novels to science fiction and fantasy, a wide range of forms and genres will be represented. The fair is free and all are welcome!”

Rooms 3 & 4, Council House, Victoria Square, Birmingham, B1 1BB

The Alchemy Press will be there selling copies of Rumours of the Marvellous, Beneath the Ground, Sex, Lies and Family Ties, Swords Against the Millennium… and we hope to have preview copies of The Alchemy Press Books of Pulp Heroes and Ancient Wonders.

If you are in the area, come along and say hello.

« Last Edit: August 21, 2012, 04:27:32 pm by Peter Coleborn »

Offline Peter Coleborn

  • Publisher, The Alchemy Press
  • Elder Darkness
  • *****
  • Posts: 1656
    • View Profile
    • Peter Coleborn / Alchemy Press
Re: Alchemy Press events
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2012, 03:31:58 pm »

Offline Peter Coleborn

  • Publisher, The Alchemy Press
  • Elder Darkness
  • *****
  • Posts: 1656
    • View Profile
    • Peter Coleborn / Alchemy Press
Re: Alchemy Press events
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2012, 03:29:45 pm »
REMINDER:

The Birmingham Independent Book Fair is scheduled for 9 September, from 11.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m.:

“Browse, buy and discover new books, many of which are not available on the high street. This day-long event will feature independent publishers from the West Midlands and beyond, offering you the chance to buy books directly from the publishers, who will be on hand to answer questions and introduce you to new writing. From poetry pamphlets to prose fiction, graphic novels to science fiction and fantasy, a wide range of forms and genres will be represented. The fair is free and all are welcome!”

Rooms 3 & 4, Council House, Victoria Square, Birmingham, B1 1BB

The Alchemy Press will be there selling copies of Rumours of the Marvellous, Beneath the Ground, Sex, Lies and Family Ties, Swords Against the Millennium… and we hope to have preview copies of The Alchemy Press Books of Pulp Heroes and Ancient Wonders.

If you are in the area, come along and say hello.