Author Topic: James Wade's Arkham House book that never was...  (Read 47 times)

Offline David A. Sutton

  • Warrior
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
    • David A. Sutton
James Wade's Arkham House book that never was...
« on: September 03, 2018, 12:37:14 pm »
Fans of August Derleth and Arkham House may be interested in an Arkham House book that never was… James Wade (1930-1983) proposed a collection of his stories for AH (Derleth had already published some of the author’s stories and poems in anthologies). There was a Foreword written by Fritz Leiber.

Now, much expanded from that original concept, “Such Things May Be: Collected Writings” has been put together by editor Edward P. Berglund. Published by Shadow Publishing, this major retrospective contains 25 short stories, over 20 poems and more than 30 essays and reviews in this major retrospective of the author. Included are tales from Lovecraft’s Cthulhu Mythos: The Deep Ones, A Darker Shadow Over Innsmouth, The Silence of Erika Zann; darkly supernatural terror from the Midwest, The Nightingale Floors, The Pursuer, The Elevator, Snow in the City; Weird tales set in Korea: The Temple of the Fox, Time After Time.

A very good review of the James Wade collection, by Mario Guslandi, has been posted on the SFRevu website. http://sfrevu.com/php/Review-id.php?id=18156.

Quote
"In short, an exhaustive and long due homage to an unjustly forgotten author in the field of dark fiction".
[/size]