Author Topic: New member joins the flock...  (Read 10458 times)

Matt Curran

New member joins the flock...
« on: April 04, 2006, 04:26:07 pm »
Not one to dance about with his hands in the air, just thought I'd say hello before I start posting replies on the site.

I've been a member of the BFS since last Autumn and this is the first time I've registered on the forum...

Without making this sound like an AA meet, I've been into anything remotely fantastical since I was an embryo (I was weened on fantasy and science fiction by my broadminded parents) and have been writing since I was able to form a sentence.  I'm still a newbie in terms of the 'net, but I have a blog somewhere in this nest of wires, chips and electrical signals flying about the ether, and I'll be getting a website in the summer.

And... without too much plugging... my first novel, The Secret War, is being published by Macmillan in Jan 2007.

Cheers

;)

ChrisT

Re: New member joins the flock...
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2006, 08:52:28 am »
Welcome Matt, what's the novel about?

Matt Curran

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2006, 09:25:11 am »
Hi Chris

The Secret War is a historical dark-fantasy set just after the Battle of Waterloo. Two survivors of the battle, William Saxon and Kieran Harte, are thrown into a secret war between Heaven and Hell when a daemon is let loose in the town they are resting in.  The book follows their adventures of revenge and revelation from the fields of Belgium to England, then Rome and northern Italy; along the way there are battles aplenty on land and sea, between vampyres, daemons, angels and monks.
The Secret War comes in at just over 400 pages, and should be out in hardback in Jan 2007.  At the moment I'm also writing the follow-up called (provisionally) The Burning Sands of Time.

ChrisT

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2006, 09:55:05 am »
Not a huge fan of fantasy, but I do like alternate histories so I'll keep an eye out for this...