Author Topic: Hello to All...  (Read 5357 times)

Alex Davis

Hello to All...
« on: October 13, 2006, 05:57:32 pm »
Hi All,

By way of an introduction...the 'introduce yourself' board basically told me in big red letters that no-one had posted there in ages so here goes...

My name is Alex Davis and I've just joined both the BFS and FantasyCon committees. I see some familiar names on the boards and also some unfamiliar names, so I though it best to give a bit of background to myself. I'll be working on events for the BFS and publicity for FCon.

I've been working as Literature Development Officer in Derby City for about a year now, and prior to that was the co-ordinator for the Nottingham Poetry in the City festival. I've also worked in Tourist Information and ran a writing group (Sepulchre Dark Writing- what else?) for around 2 years. Prior to that I studied Creative Writing at the University of Derby.

I've always been interested in good horror, fantasy and science-fiction writing which I why I developed Alt.Fiction, which took place in Derby last year and goes on again next year. In this way I came across various members of the BFS, and in time I was honoured to be considered for a role in both the BFS and FantasyCon, which I was delighted was accepted at the AGM.

Most of my current post involves running events with other aspects such as helping budding writers and writing groups, pointing people in the right direction for publication and generally advising and assisting those people interested in literature in all its forms. I've always loved running events and I can't think of a non-cheesy way to put that I love helping people to enjoy themselves and perhaps exposing them to something new.