Son of the Morning. Book Review

sonSON OF THE MORNING by Mark Alder
Gollancz, p/b, 752pp, £9.99
Reviewed by Matthew Johns

Billed as being perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, it’s easy to see how the comparison came about. Set during the Hundred Years War, this mixes historical fact with fiction. Each nation has its own angels, which all require incredibly ornate cathedrals to be built to venerate them. However, since King Edward the Third came to power, England’s angels have disappeared and no longer serve him on the battlefield.

Waging an increasingly costly (both in fiscal and human terms) war against France, he also faces a rebellion back in England as the word of Lucifer begins to spread, turning the common people away from Edward’s church. According to these peasants, Lucifer is the real God, who was banished from heaven and imprisoned in Hell by an usurper, Ithekter. Prophecies tell of the Man of Perdition, who will come to open the gates of Hell, and free Lucifer, restoring order.

Son of the Morning is an excellent read, a truly gripping step back into a re-imagined England during the 1300’s, where magic and angels are accepted parts of everyday life. Whether you are a fan of Martin’s work, enjoy historical fiction or just love a good read, Son of the Morning is almost 800 pages of joy and is one to seek out.

About Phil Lunt (800 Articles)
Hailing from the rain-sodden, North Western wastelands of England, Phil has dabbled in many an arcane vocation. From rock-star to conveyor-belt scraper at a bread factory, 'Dairy Logistics Technician' to world's worst waiter. He's currently a freelance designer, actor, sometime writer/editor and Chair of the British Fantasy Society. He is on the Global Frequency and is still considering becoming an astronaut when he grows up.