Joss Whedon and Harry Harrison honoured by the SFWA

Recently announced by the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SWFA): Joss Whedon, the creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel and Firefly, will receive the Bradbury Award for Excellence in Screenwriting. The Award will be presented at the Nebula Awards Weekend, held this year in Los Angeles (24-26 April).

The Bradbury Award was first presented in 1992. Previous winners of the award include J Michael Straczynski and Harlan Ellison. Whedon told the SWFA: “To receive the award named for him is an honor I’d not dreamed of. In my defense, it didn’t exist back then. What did exist were the very lovely, very twisted and very human stories that warped my impressionable mind, and that I have tried, in whatever medium they will let me, to measure up to.” 

Others to be honoured at the 2009 Nebula Awards Weekend include Harry Harrison (Bill, the Galactic Hero and the Deathworld series) who will become the next Damon Knight Grand Master; M.J. Engh will be recognized Author Emerita; Kate Wilhelm (Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang), Martin H Greenberg (a “king of anthologists”) and the late Algis Budrys, who died last year, (Who? and Rogue Moon) will receive the SFWA Solstice Award. The Awards Weekend toastmistress will be singer/songwriter Janis Ian. 

From 2010, the Award will be renamed the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and work in movies, TV, the Internet, radio, stage and audio will be eligible.  The full story is available here.