The BSFA Awards announced

From the BSFA website: The British Science Fiction Awards ceremony took place at the  61st  Eastercon convention, Odyssey 2010, at the Radisson Edwardian Hotel, Heathrow, London, UK. The lavish ceremony was hosted by Ian Watson and Donna Scott, and the following awards were presented (by Iain M Bank, Liz Williams, Alastair Reynolds and Mike Carey): 

Best Novel 2009 – China Mieville, The City and the City

Best Short Fiction 2009 – Ian Watson and Roberto Quaglia, The Beloved Time of Their Lives

Best Non-Fiction 2009 – Nick Lowe, Mutant Popcorn

Best Artwork 2009 – Stephen Martiniere for the cover of Desolation Road 

The BSFA Awards are voted for by members of the BSFA and Eastercon. The shortlist was drawn up earlier this year from nominations received by members of the BSFA and the final vote was held on the 4 April 2010, followed by the ceremony. Works published in the UK for the first time in 2009 were eligible for these awards. If you should have any questions regarding the BSFA Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator, Donna Scott at