The Stoker Awards

The 2009 Stoker Awards winners were announced following the fish & chips banquet at the World Horror Convention last month in Brighton.

Grand Masters: Tanith Lee and James Herbert

HWA Lifetime Achievement Awards: Brian Lumley and William F. Nolan

WHC Lifetime Achievement Award: Basil Copper

Superior Achievement in a Novel: Audrey’s Door, Sarah Langan

Superior Achievement in a First Novel: Damnable, Hank Schwaeble

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: The Lucid Dreaming, Lisa Morton

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction: “In the Porches of My Ears”, Norman Prentiss (Postscripts 18)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology: He Is Legend: An Anthology Celebrating Richard Matheson, edited by Christopher Conlon

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection: A Taste of Tenderloin, Gene O’Neill

Superior Achievement in Non-fiction: Writers Workshop of Horror, Michael Knost

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection: Chimeric Machines, Lucy A. Snyder

Specialty Press Award: Tartarus Press (Ray Russell and Rosalie Parker)

Richard Layman President’s Award: Vince Liaguno

Silver Hammer Award: Kathy Ptacek

Next year, further Stoker catagories are for screenplay, young adult and graphic novel