Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2014

The winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2014, as announced on Sunday, 7 September 2014, at the awards banquet at FantasyCon 2014 in York:

Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): A Stranger in Olondria, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer Press)

Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award): The Shining Girls, Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)

Best novella: Beauty, Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)

Best short story: Signs of the Times, Carole Johnstone (Black Static #33)

Best anthology: End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)

Best collection: Monsters in the Heart, Stephen Volk (Gray Friar Press)

Best small press: The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)

Best comic/graphic novel: Demeter, Becky Cloonan

Best artist: Joey Hi-Fi

Best non-fiction: Speculative Fiction 2012, Justin Landon and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London)

Best magazine/periodical: Clarkesworld, Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker (ed.) (Wyrm Publishing)

Best film/television episode: Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)

Best newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice (Orbit)

The British Fantasy Society Special Award (The Karl Edward Wagner Award): Farah Mendlesohn

The nominees in each category were decided by the voters of the British Fantasy Society, FantasyCon 2012 and FantasyCon 2014, with the juries having a discretion to add up to two further egregious omissions in each category. The full list of nominees is here.

The winners were decided by the following jury members. Fantasy novel: Gary Couzens, Laurel Sills, Matthew Hughes, Neil Williamson and Selina Lock. Horror novel: Cate Gardner, Jim McLeod, Mark West, Pauline Morgan and Thana Niveau. Novella: Aleksandra Kesek, Jo Thomas and Paul Holmes. Short story: David Tallerman, Matthew Hughes and Pauline Morgan. Collection: Matthew Hughes, Ole Andreas Imsen and Pauline Morgan. Anthology: Carole Johnstone, Gary Couzens and Matthew Hughes. Small press: Dave Brzeski, Elaine Hillson, Elloise Hopkins, Rachel Kendall and Rhian Bowley. Non-fiction: Djibril al-Ayad, Emma Newman and Jason Arnopp. Magazine/periodical: Aleksandra Kesek, Donna Bond and Jim McLeod. Comic/graphic novel: Jay Eales, Jennie Gyllblad and P.M. Buchan. Artist: Jennie Gyllblad, P.M. Buchan and Rachel Kendall. Film/television episode: Adrian Faulkner, Catherine Hill and Gary Couzens. Newcomer: Douglas Thompson, Ian Hunter and Lizzie Barrett. The Karl Edward Wagner Award was decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee.

The awards administrator was Stephen Theaker. The physical award this year, a handmade wooden bookend featuring Lee Thompson’s BFS logo, was commissioned from Sarah Goss, who works in traditional woodcarving and restoration:

12 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2014 | Science And Technology News Updated Hourly
  2. Smugglers’ Stash & News | Xcuz Me
  3. Lauren Beukes and Joey Hi-Fi Win 2014 British Fantasy Awards | Books LIVE
  4. The Book Smugglers | Smugglers’ Stash & News
  5. Becky Cloonan's 'Demeter' wins British Fantasy Award | Robot 6 @ Comic Book ResourcesRobot 6 @ Comic Book Resources
  6. Ganadores de los British Fantasy Awards 2014 | FantĂ­fica
  7. Black Gate » Blog Archive » The 2014 British Fantasy Award Winners Announced
  8. British Fantasy Awards deliver strong, diverse slate | Informit Bulletin
  9. Hole in the Page - The Website of Carl Barker » Blog Archive » …but is it Art?
  10. Back from the dead! | P M Buchan
  11. Sunday Links, September 21, 2014 | Like Fire
  12. Speculative Fiction 2012 BFS Winner | Sarah Anne LangtonSarah Anne Langton

Comments are closed.