British Fantasy Awards 2021: winners announced

The British Fantasy Awards 2021 took place on 26th September 2021, as part of FantasyCon, held at Jury’s Inn in Birmingham.

It was also streamed online, and you can watch the ceremony back at any time here.

You can view the 2021 shortlists here.

The winners were:

  • The Sydney J. Bounds Award for Best Newcomer: Kathleen Jennings, for Flyaway (Tordotcom)
  • Best Anthology: Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, ed. Zelda Knight & Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Aurelia Leo)
  • Best Collection: The Watcher in the Woods, by Charlotte Bond (Black Shuck Books)
  • Best Comic/Graphic Novel: DIE Vol. 2: Split the Party, by Kieron Gillen & Stephanie Hans (Image Comics)
  • Best Film/Television Production: The Boys: What I Know (season 2, episode 8), written by Rebecca Sonnenshine & Eric Kripke
  • Best Short Fiction: Infinite Tea in the Demara Café, by Ida Keogh (in London Centric: Tales of Future London; Newcon Press)
  • Best Artist: Daniele Serra
  • Best Independent Press: Luna Press Publishing
  • Best Magazine/Periodical: Strange Horizons
  • Best Non-Fiction: Women Make Horror: Filmmaking, Feminism, Genre, ed. Alison Peirse (Rutgers University Press)
  • Best Novella: Ring Shout, by P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom)
  • Best Audio: The Magnus Archives, by Jonathan Sims (Rusty Quill)
  • The August Derleth Award for Best Horror Novel: Mexican Gothic, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Robert Holdstock Award for Best Fantasy Novel: The Once and Future Witches, by Alix E. Harrow (Orbit)
  • The Karl Edward Wagner Special Award: Alasdair Stuart

The Legends of FantasyCon award (presented by the con, rather than the British Fantasy Society) went to Katherine Fowler, British Fantasy Awards administrator.

3 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Here Are the Winners of the 2021 British Fantasy Award! – Book Library
  2. Here Are the Winners of the 2021 British Fantasy Award! - incloudhosting
  3. British Fantasy Award — Flyaway for Best Newcomer | Kathleen Jennings

Comments are closed.