The juries of the British Fantasy Awards 2013

Below are the juries for the British Fantasy Awards 2013. The main jury decides the categories of fantasy novel, horror novel, novella, short story, collection, anthology, magazine/periodical, comic/graphic novel and screenplay, while the non-fiction, artist, small press and newcomer (Sydney J. Bounds) awards have their own juries. The special (Karl Edward Wagner) award is decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee.

The main jury
Esther Sherman
Matthew Hughes
Neil Williamson
Pauline Morgan
Ros Jackson

The non-fiction jury
Djibril al-Ayad
Jason Arnopp
Roz Kaveney

The artist jury
Daniele Serra
Jimmy Broxton
P.M. Buchan
Rachel Kendall
Rhian Bowley

The small press jury
Elaine Hillson
Elloise Hopkins
Dave Brzeski
Rachel Kendall
Rhian Bowley

The newcomer jury
Adele Wearing
Alison Littlewood
Jim Steel
Lizzie Barrett
Peter Tennant

Over the next month or so the juries will decide whether to add any “egregious omissions” to the shortlists produced by the voting of the British Fantasy Society and the attendees of FantasyCon 2012. The shortlists will then be announced, and the juries will go on to decide the winners, which will be announced at an awards ceremony held at the World Fantasy Convention 2013, which runs from October 31 to November 3 in Brighton.

The jury members were selected by the British Fantasy Awards Administrator, Stephen Theaker (, and approved by the committee of the British Fantasy Society.

4 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. British Fantasy Awards 2013 | Panglossian Hubris
  2. British Fantasy Awards | ayeahmur
  3. Brief Thoughts Late on a Friday Afternoon #2 | Trumpetville
  4. The British Fantasy Awards 2013, Exquisite Terror and Starburst issue 389 | P M Buchan

Comments are closed.