The Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2010

British Fantasy Awards 2010: the Winners

Here are the winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2010, as announced at the British Fantasy Awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2010.

Best Novel: the August Derleth Fantasy Award

ONE, Conrad Williams (Virgin Horror)

Best Novella

THE LANGUAGE OF DYING, Sarah Pinborough (PS Publishing)

Best Short Fiction

WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU WAKE UP IN THE NIGHT, Michael Marshall Smith (Nightjar)

Best Anthology

THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF BEST NEW HORROR 20, edited by Stephen Jones (Constable and Robinson)

Best Collection

LOVE SONGS FOR THE SHY AND CYNICAL, Robert Shearman (Big Finish)

The PS Publishing Best Small Press Award


Best Comic/Graphic Novel

WHATEVER HAPPENED TO THE CAPED CRUSADER?, Neil Gaiman and Andy Kubert (DC Comics/Titan Books)

Best Artist

VINCENT CHONG, for work including covers for The Witnesses Are Gone (PS Publishing) and The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 20 (Constable & Robinson)

Best Non-Fiction

ANSIBLE, David Langford

Best Magazine/Periodical

MURKY DEPTHS, edited and published by Terry Martin

Best Television

DOCTOR WHO, head writer: Russell T Davies (BBC Wales)

Best Film

LET THE RIGHT ONE IN, directed by Tomas Alfredson (EFTI)

Best Newcomer – the Sydney J. Bounds Award


The British Fantasy Society Special Award: the Karl Edward Wagner Award


The British Fantasy Award winners were decided by a vote of the combined memberships of the British Fantasy Society, FantasyCon 2009 and FantasyCon 2010. The exceptions are the Sydney J. Bounds Award, decided by a panel of appointed judges, and the Karl Edward Wagner Award, decided by the British Fantasy Society and FantasyCon 2010 committees.

The winner of the BFS Short Story Competition 2010 was also announced during the ceremony. The winning story was ‘Omar the Teller of Tales’ by Robin Tompkins. The runner-up was “The Song” by Travis Heermann, and third place went to ‘Beating Heart’ by Dan Malach.