Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2017

These are the winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2017, as announced on Sunday, 1 October 2017, at the awards banquet and ceremony held at Fantasycon 2017 in Peterborough:

The Karl Edward Wagner Award

Jan Edwards

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

Erica L Satifka, Stay Crazy (Apex Book Company)

Best Magazine / Periodical

Best Non-fiction

The Geek Feminist Revolution (Tor Books), Kameron Huxley

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

Monstress, Vol 1: Awakening (Image Comics), Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda

Best Independent Press

Grimbold Books

Best Artist

Daniele Serra

Best Anthology

People of Colour Destroy Science Fiction ed. (Lightspeed Magazine), Nalo Hopkinson & Kristine Ong Muslim

Best Collection

Some Will Not Sleep (Ritual Limited), Adam L G Nevill

Best Film / Television Production

Arrival (Paramount Pictures), Denis Villeneuve, Eric Heisserer & Ted Chiang

Best Novella

The Ballad of Black Tom ( Publishing), Victor LaValle

Best Short Fiction

“White Rabbit” (Black Static 50 – Jan/Feb 2016), Georgina Bruce

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

Disappearance at Devil’s Rock (Titan Books), Paul Tremblay

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

The Tiger and the Wolf (Pan Macmillan), Adrian Tchaikovsky

The Karl Edward Wagner Award is also known as the British Fantasy Special Award. This is an award that may be presented to individuals or organisations. The award is typically given to someone who has made an important contribution to the genre or the Society throughout his/her lifetime, to the organisers of a special event or a significant publication that took place in the relevant year.

If you would like to know more about how winners are selected, please take a look at our page about the awards, including past winners, it’s history and the constitution. For a full list of the nominees for each category, please see our 2017 Nominee Shortlists.

Image: Awards crafted by the talented Sarah Goss.

1 Comment on Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2017

  1. Hoping the Best Fantasy Novel award is still called the ‘Robert Holdstock Award’?

Comments are closed.