The Poole Literary Festival: Press Release

Poole is set to welcome over 40 acclaimed writers from across the UK with three days of fun-filled activities for people of all ages (29–31 October 2010). The Daily Echo-backed Poole Literary Festival (PLF) will play host to an outstanding wealth of literary talent, live art performances, music and thought-provoking workshops. It’s a weekend not to be missed!

With over 50 events, PLF is a family friendly festival, offering activities for children as well as adults, welcoming  anyone looking for an exciting and inspiring day out! It’s an opportunity to meet and discuss works with top listed authors, take part in creative workshops, have a treasured book signed, enjoy a coffee, listen to some music, get creative and have fun. 

The line-up includes Michael Morpurgo, Carol Ann Duffy, Minette Walters, Gervase Phinn, Michael Jecks, Daisy Goodwin  and Katie Fforde. Tickets are available from Lighthouse Poole’s Centre for the Arts on 0844 406 8666, or you can book online at their website.

New Media Writing Prize 

The New Media Writing Prize (NMWP) is a custom designed literary-award fit for the 21st Century media-scape of electronic publishing and the emerging digital world. The Prize has been established by the inaugural Poole Literary Festival (PLF) in partnership with The Media School at Bournemouth University as a venue for writers to showcase their skills, provoke discussion and raise awareness of new media writing and the future of the written word. For the 2010 NMWP the judges have considered over 60 entries from all around the world, including New Zealand, Canada and the USA. A general shortlist of six entries has been selected, with two student entries also shortlisted.  

General Shortlist: Naomi Alderman – The Winter House; Jim Andrews – On Lionel Kearns; Alan Bigelow – My Summer Vacation; Katherine Norman – Yes Really (stay conscious); Ann Pitt – The 02 Tales; Christine Wilks – Underbelly

Student Shortlist: Lorenza Samuels – Evidence and Emily Hollingsworth – Anonymous

The winners will be announced and Prizes consisting of an iPad and £250 given at a special ceremony which will form the climax of the first PLF. The ceremony will take place at Lighthouse – Poole’s Centre for the Arts at 7pm on Sunday 31 October.

The ceremony will begin with Chris Meade leading a panel discussion on “The Future of the Book”. The panel will also include Chris Stevens, Maureen Scott and Neal Hoskins. The inaugural New Media Writing Prize award will be presented after the panel discussion followed by a drinks reception for our winners. The Prize is set to become a major international event on the arts calendar. 

The judges of the New Media Writing Prize are: Andy Campbell, Michael Bhaskar, Tracey McGarrigan, Jim Pope and Tim Wright.

‘This award is breaking genuinely new ground in looking at how digital technology is transforming written communication. As the first award of its kind globally it will be a landmark in the increasingly exciting arena of new media writing and I am thrilled to be involved.’ Michael Bhaskar, a member of the judging panel.