World Horror Convention Announces Second Guest of Honour

It's David Case.

From Stephen Jones: World Horror Convention 2010 is proud to announce that our second Author Guest of Honour is veteran American writer DAVID CASE.

During the 1970s and early ’80s, many of his acclaimed stories were reprinted in Herbert Van Thal’s legendary PAN BOOK OF HORROR STORIES. These were mostly drawn from the author’s acclaimed short story collections, THE CELL: THREE TALES OF HORROR, which included the classic psychological werewolf tale of the title, and FENGRIFFEN: A CHILLING TALE.

A more recent collection is BROTHERLY LOVE AND OTHER TALES OF FAITH AND KNOWLEDGE, while PS Publishing will be premiering a brand-new collection in honour of David’s appearance at World Horror Convention 2010.

The author of more than three hundred books under at least seventeen pseudonyms, ranging from exploitation to Westerns, David’s other books in the horror genre include the novels WOLF TRACKS and the 1981 Arkham House volume THE THIRD GRAVE. His zombie novella “Pelican Cay” (from DARK TERRORS 5) was nominated for a World Fantasy Award in 2001.

“Fengriffen” was filmed by Amicus in 1973 as -AND NOW THE SCREAMING STARTS! with an all-star cast that included Peter Cushing, Herbert Lom, Patrick Magee, Ian Ogilvy, Stephanie Beacham and a memorable crawling hand. Another story, “The Hunter”, was adapted by Richard Matheson into the 1974 TV movie SCREAM OF THE WOLF, directed by Dan Curtis and starring Peter Graves and Clint Walker.

For more information about DAVID CASE – who joins TANITH LEE as part of our exciting line-up of Guests of Honour – please go to the convention website.

Other writers, artists, editors and publishers already registered as attending World Horror Convention 2010 include: Pat Cadigan, Ramsey Campbell, Centipede Press (USA), Peter Crowther, Ellen Datlow, Christopher Fowler, Garry Fry, John Jarrold, Jemma Press (Greece), Stephen Jones, Allen Koszowski, Tim Lebbon, Brian Lumley, L.H. Maynard & M.P.N. Sims, Gary McMahon, Farah Mendlesohn, Mortbury Press (UK), Mark Morris, Lisa Morton, Yvonne Navarro, NewCon Press (UK), Kim Newman, Reggie Oliver, Weston Ochse, OXY Publishing (Greece), Sarah Pinborough, David Pirie, John L. Probert, PS Publishing (UK), Tony Richards, David A. Riley, Screaming Dreams (UK), Robert Shearman, Michael Marshall Smith, Snowbooks (UK), Alexandra Sokoloff, Tartarus Press (UK), Telos Publishing (UK), Stephen Volk, Conrad Williams, and F. Paul Wilson, amongst many others.