2011 Tiptree Award winner announced

The winner of the 2011 James Tiptree, Jr. Award, given annually to works of science fiction or fantasy that explore and expand gender roles, has been announced. The award-winning novel is Redwood and Wildfire by Andrea Hairston (Aqueduct Press, 2011).

In addition, the following stories/novels made the Tiptree Award Honor List:

Libba Bray, Beauty Queens (Scholastic Press 2011)
L. Timmel Duchamp, “The Nones of Quintilus” (in her collection Never at Home, Aqueduct Press 2011)
Kameron Hurley, God’s War (Night Shade Books 2011)
Gwyneth Jones, The Universe of Things (Aqueduct Press 2011)
Alice Sola Kim, “The Other Graces” (Asimov’s Science Fiction, July 2010)
Sandra McDonald, “Seven Sexy Cowboy Robots” (Strange Horizons, 2010.10.04)
Maureen F. McHugh, “After the Apocalypse” (in her collection After the Apocalypse, Small Beer Press 2011)
Delia Sherman, The Freedom Maze (Big Mouth House 2011)
Kim Westwood, The Courier’s New Bicycle (Harper Voyager Australia 2011)

Full details of the award winners and a longlist of “books worth mentioning” is available HERE