2012 Campbell and Sturgeon Award winners announced

SFScope have reported that the winners of this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award (for best short science fiction story published in 2011) and John W. Campbell Memorial Award (for best science-fiction novel of 2011) are as follows:

Campbell Award:
1st (joint): The Islanders by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
1st (joint): The Highest Frontier by Joan Slonczewski (Tor)
3rd: Embassytown by China Miéville (Ballantine/Del Rey)
Honorable Mention: Osama by Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

Sturgeon Award:
1st: The Choice by Paul McAuley (Asimov’s)
2nd: Six Months Three Days by Charlie Jane Anders (Tor.com)
3rd: The Paper Menagerie by Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)