British Fantasy Awards 2018 – winners

The Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2018 are:

Anthology: New Fears, ed. Mark Morris (Titan Books)
Audio: Anansi Boys (by Neil Gaiman, adapted by Dirk Maggs for Radio 4)
Artist: Jeffrey Alan Love
Collection: Strange Weather
(Gollancz), Joe Hill
Comic/graphic novel: Monstress, Vol 2 (Image Comics), Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda
Fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): The Ninth Rain
(Headline), Jen Williams
Film/television production: Get Out (Universal Pictures), Jordan Peele
Horror novel (the August Derleth Award): The Changeling (Canongate), Victor LaValle
Independent press: Unsung Stories
Magazine/periodical: Shoreline of Infinity, ed. Noel Chidwick
Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Jeannette Ng, Under the Pendulum Sun (Angry Robot)
Non-fiction: Gender Identity and Sexuality in Science Fiction and Fantasy (Luna Press), ed. FT Barbini
Novella: Passing Strange
( Publishing), Ellen Klages
Short fiction: “Looking for Laika, by Laura Mauro (in Interzone #273) (TTA Press)
The Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award): N.K. Jemisin

The ceremony took place on the 21st of October, at FantasyCon 2018. This year Fantasycon took place at the Queen’s Hotel, Chester.

The FantasyCon ‘Legends of FantasyCon’ Award, was awarded to Alasdair Stuart and Marguerite Kenner.

The awards were also reported on twitter, and that thread can be viewed on