The Kitschies’ Shortlists Revealed

kitschieThe Kitschies, the prize for “novels containing elements of the speculative and fantastic” have revealed their shortlists for the most “progressive, intelligent and entertaining” books of 2012.

This year’s shortlisted books are narrowed down from 211 submissions, coming from over 40 publishers that range from literary stalwarts Granta to pulp imprint Angry Robot.

The Red Tentacle (Novel), judged by Rebecca Levene, Patrick Ness and Jared Shurin:

  • Jesse Bullington, The Folly of the World (Orbit)
  • Nick Harkaway, Angelmaker (William Heinemann)
  • Frances Hardinge, A Face Like Glass (Macmillan Children’s)
  • Adam Roberts, Jack Glass (Gollancz)
  • Julie Zeh (translated by Sally-Ann Spencer), The Method (Harvill Secker)

The Golden Tentacle (Debut):

  • Madeline Ashby, vN (Angry Robot)
  • Jenni Fagan, The Panopticon (William Heinemann)
  • Rachel Hartman, Seraphina (Doubleday)
  • Karen Lord, Redemption in Indigo (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Tom Pollock, The City’s Son (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Inky Tentacle (Cover Art), judged by Lauren O’Farrell, Gary Northfield and Ed Warren:

  • Tom Gauld, Costume Not Included by Matthew Hughes (Angry Robot)
  • Oliver Jeffers, The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket by John Boyne (Doubleday)
  • Dave Shelton, A Boy and a Bear in a Boat by Dave Shelton (David Fickling Books)
  • Peter Mendelsund, The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus (Granta)
  • La Boca, The Teleportation Accident by Ned Beauman (Sceptre)

The winners will be announced in a ceremony at the Free Word Centre on 26 February. Winners will receive a total of £2,000 in prize money, as well as one of the prize’s iconic Tentacle trophies and bottles of The Kraken Rum.

Jared Shurin said  “We always look for books that challenge people’s expectations of the speculative and fantastic. Although the pool of publishers and authors grows more diverse every year, there’s still a lot of work to be done. We hope that The Kitschies helps spur more discussion about what makes great fiction.”

The prize, sponsored by The Kraken Rum, is now in its fourth year, with previous winners including Lauren Beukes, China Miéville, Donald Westlake and Patrick Ness.