Unique theatrical concert for Halloween

A concert is being planned. Someone is trying to get through.

Aurora Orchestra presents a unique theatrical concert for Halloween, devised in collaboration with Peter Straub, one of the world’s leading horror writers, touring to venues across England.

30 October 2011, 7.30pm: St George’s Bristol
1 November 2011, 7.30pm: The Apex, Bury St Edmunds
2 November 2011, 7.30pm: Wathen Hall, St Paul’s School
3 November 2011, 7.30pm: Turner Sims, Southampton
4 November 2011, 7.30pm: LSO St Luke’s, London

Bach (arr. Webern), Ricercar a 6 (A Musical Offering)
Dukas (arr. Farrington), The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Saint-Saëns, Andante from Septet in E-flat major
Ives, Adeste Fideles
Nancarrow (arr. Mikashoff), Study for Player Piano No. 7
Berio, Duetti
Kats-Chernin, Cadences, Deviations and Scarlatti
Sibelius, Valse Triste

Catherine Hopper (mezzo-soprano)
Rex Lawson (pianola)
Nicholas Collon (conductor)
Tim Hopkins (theatre-maker/director)
Peter Straub (author)

American horror writer Peter Straub is known to millions worldwide for novels including Ghost Story, Koko, and In the Night Room, as well as his collaborations with Stephen King, The Talisman and Black House. Together with theatre-maker and director Tim Hopkins, Straub collaborates with Aurora this year to create a Halloween concert like no other.

A concert is being planned; arrangements are made; but other voices are trying to get through, and both writer and musicians are gripped by forces beyond their control…

Peter Straub’s original text weaves together an eclectic musical programme including hauntingly beautiful works by Bach, Saint-Saëns and Sibelius, the fearsome virtuosity of Nancarrow’s Studies for Player Piano, Dukas’ iconic Sorcerers’ Apprentice, and the explosive, unsettling power of Elena Kats-Chernin’s Cadences, Deviations and Scarlatti.

Visit the Aurora Orchestra website for more details and booking info.”

2 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Classical Horror
  2. Peter Straub’s Launch of ‘Classical Horror’ | THE HAWLER:

Comments are closed.