Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2015

BFS_Logo_red_SMALLThese are the winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2015, as announced on Sunday, 25 October 2015, at the awards banquet at FantasyCon 2015 in Nottingham:

Best anthology: Lightspeed: Women Destroy Science Fiction Special Issue, ed. Christie Yant (Lightspeed Magazine)

Best artist: Karla Ortiz

Best collection: Nick Nightmare Investigates, Adrian Cole (The Alchemy Press and Airgedlámh Publications)

Best comic/graphic novel: Through the Woods, Emily Carroll (Margaret K. McElderry Books)

Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s Books)

Best film/television episode: Guardians of the Galaxy, James Gunn and Nicole Perlman (Marvel Studios)

Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award): No One Gets Out Alive, Adam Nevill (Macmillan)

Best independent press: Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)

Best magazine/periodical: Holdfast Magazine, ed. Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee (Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee)

Best newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Sarah Lotz, for The Three (Hodder & Stoughton)

Best non-fiction: Letters to Arkham: The Letters of Ramsey Campbell and August Derleth, 1961–1971, ed. S.T. Joshi (PS Publishing)

Best novella: Newspaper Heart, Stephen Volk (The Spectral Book of Horror Stories)

Best short story: A Woman’s Place, Emma Newman (Two Hundred and Twenty-One Baker Streets)

The Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award): Juliet E. McKenna

The nominees in each category were decided by the voters of the British Fantasy Society, FantasyCon 2014 and FantasyCon 2015, with the juries having a discretion to add up to two further egregious omissions in each category. The full list of nominees is here.

The winners were decided by the following jury members: Best anthology: Carole Johnstone, Elaine Hillson and Rhian Bowley. Best artist: Donna Scott, Jared Shurin and P.M. Buchan. Best collection: Dave Brzeski, Ole A. Imsen and Thana Niveau. Best comic/graphic novel: Jared Shurin, Jay Eales and Laurel Sills. Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): Aleksandra Kesek, Gary Couzens and Lucy Smee. Best film/television episode: Adrian Faulkner, Catherine Mann and Gary Couzens. Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award): Cate Gardner, Jim Mcleod and Laura Mauro. Best independent press: Bill Thompson, Elloise Hopkins, Robin K Hickson, Robin Lupton and Sarah Carter. Best magazine/periodical: Donna Scott, Mark West and Phil Sloman. Best newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Ian Hunter, Lizzie Barrett and Simon Bestwick. Best non-fiction: Jason Arnopp, Johnny Mains and Laura Mauro. Best novella: Jo Thomas, Paul Holmes and Stephen Bacon. Best short story: Catherine Mann, Allen Stroud and David Tallerman. The Karl Edward Wagner Award was decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee.

The awards administrator was Stephen Theaker. The physical award is a handmade wooden bookend featuring Lee Thompson’s BFS logo, commissioned from Sarah Goss, who works in traditional woodcarving and restoration:

1 Comment on Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2015

  1. Through the Woods is an outstanding graphic novel. Very well deserved!

15 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2015 British Fantasy Awards | File 770
  2. 2015 British Fantasy Awards Winners | Worlds Without End Blog
  3. FantasyCon Day 3 | jasonwhittleblogs
  4. Sarah Lotz Wins 2015 British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer for The Three | Books LIVE
  5. British Fantasy Award | Margrét Helgadóttir
  6. FantasyCon 2015 -
  7. Women Destroy Science Fiction : The Cultural Gutter
  8. Comics A.M. | Emily Carroll's 'Through the Woods' wins British Fantasy Award - Robot 6 @ Comic Book ResourcesRobot 6 @ Comic Book Resources
  9. Books: British Fantasy Awards - Forbidden Planet Blog
  10. Fantasycon 2015: Aftermath | Jenny Barber
  11. Black Gate » Blog Archive » The Winners of the 2015 British Fantasy Awards
  12. Loose-leaf Links for October | Earl Grey Editing
  13. Paul Kincaid’s From the Other Side, October 2015: British Fantasy Awards, David Mitchell’s Slade House, Hal Duncan’s Testament, Julia Knight’s Swords and Scoundrels, and more | Bull Spec
  14. New issue out, call for submissions, and BFS award! | ShortStops
  15. Thought Bubble 2015 | P M Buchan

Comments are closed.